Aboriginal Flag To Fly At Victorian Parliament

Beginning today, the Aboriginal flag will permanently fly over Victoria’s Parliament House.

Flying alongside the Australian and Victorian State flag, the addition of the Aboriginal flag acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land, and the continued strength of Aboriginal identity.

Whilst previously flown to mark special occasions including NAIDOC and Reconciliation Weeks, this will be the first time the Aboriginal flag is permanently flown.

Officially proclaimed by the Speaker and President of the Parliament, the announcement received bi-partisan support.

The change comes after months of consultation by Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Natalie Hutchins, who wrote to the Presiding Officers seeking the addition of the Aboriginal flag in July.

Ms Hutchins today also distributed Acknowledgment and Welcome to Country protocols for every Member of the Parliament.

The Aboriginal flag was designed in 1972 by artist Harold Thomas. It has been an official flag of Australia since 1995 when it was proclaimed such by the Federal Government under s.5 of the Flags Act 1953 (Cth).

Quotes attributable to Premier Daniel Andrews

“Aboriginal people are the Traditional Owners of this country. It’s only right that we acknowledge their continued connection as the custodians of this land.”

“Flying of the flag is a clear statement of Aboriginal culture and identity. The oldest living culture in the world continues as ever – strong, resilient and proud.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Natalie Hutchins

“Flying the Aboriginal flag is more than just symbolism. It acknowledges Aboriginal people’s deep and continuous connection to the land.”

“It’s been a privilege to work alongside the Victorian Aboriginal community in making this a reality.”

Download PDF (131 Kb)