Calling All Outstanding Aboriginal Victorians

The Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll roadshow 2018 has officially begun, sharing the stories of Aboriginal leaders both past and present across Victoria, while on the look out for this year’s inductees.

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Natalie Hutchins announced nominations are open for the 2018 Aboriginal Honour Roll at a community event held at Sydenham Library today.

Now in its eighth year, the Honour Roll recognises the achievements of Aboriginal Victorians who have made a profound contribution to their community and to Victoria.

The Honour Roll roadshow will visit Frankston and Heywood to call for nominations and share the inspirational stories of previous Honour Roll Inductees.

There are currently 98 Aboriginal Victorians on the Honour Roll who each have contributed to a wide range of fields including health, education, justice, sport, the arts, community leadership and military service, while fighting for self-determination and equality.

The 2018 inductees will be added to the Honour Roll, which will travel as part of the roadshow and is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

Nominations for the Honour Roll will be open until Friday 7 July. For more information visit

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Natalie Hutchins

“There are so many outstanding stories to be shared of Aboriginal leaders, who have profoundly contributed to this state. The Honour Roll recognises those leaders and celebrates their stories with all Victorians.”

“The Andrews Labor Government encourages all Victorians to share in the remarkable stories of Aboriginal leaders as we take the Honour Roll on tour as part of the roadshow.”