Fifteen Aboriginal Victorians Inducted to Honour Roll

Fifteen outstanding Aboriginal leaders have been inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll at a ceremony in Melbourne.

The only honour of its kind in Australia, the 2015 ceremony marks the fifth year of the Honour Roll, with a total of 79 Aboriginal Victorians inducted.

Demonstrating the diversity of contributions being made by Aboriginal people, the fifteen inductees include a world class graphic designer, an important historical leader, a master craftswoman, a decorated soldier, gifted musicians and performing artists, passionate advocates, and respected cultural leaders:

  • Clive Atkinson
  • Thomas John Clarke
  • Aunty Judy Cue
  • Kutcha Edwards
  • Richard Frankland
  • Jill Gallagher AO
  • Aunty Nancy Harrison
  • Aunty Connie Hart
  • Ruby Hunter
  • Aunty Georgina Lovett-Williams
  • Aunty Patricia Ockwell
  • Aunty Cath Solomon
  • Noel Tovey
  • Robert Wandoon (Wandin)
  • Rita Watkins

Special Minister of State Gavin Jennings, speaking at the presentation, said the stories of each inductee would be included in the Honour Roll book, which is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

More information on the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll can be found at:

Quotes attributable to Special Minister of State Gavin Jennings

“The Honour Roll acknowledges and celebrates the wide-ranging contributions of Aboriginal people, past and present, who have made Victoria a better place.”

“From musicians and performance artists to passionate community advocates, every single inductee is an inspiration.”

“The Honour Roll is one part of our efforts to recognise and celebrate the significant contributions made by Aboriginal people in Victoria and it will continue to be added to each year.”