New Ministry To Focus On Jobs

Three new members of Cabinet have today been sworn in, with Natalie Hutchins, Shaun Leane and Danny Pearson joining the Andrews Labor Government Ministry.

Formerly Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence, Natalie Hutchins will again be a determined voice on behalf of victim survivors, taking up the portfolios of Victim Support and delivering the Government’s reform agenda in Corrections, Youth Justice, and Crime Prevention.

Having spent his parliamentary career representing communities in the outer east, Shaun Leane will ensure our growing suburbs have the services and infrastructure they need as Minister for Suburban Development. As Minister for Local Government, he will support local councils as they grapple with the pandemic, and as the son of a World War II veteran, he’ll also bring his very real personal connection to the portfolio of Minister for Veterans.

As Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Regulatory Reform, Danny Pearson will work closely with the Treasurer to deliver the Budget, oversee government shared services and bring clarity and coordination to the government’s regulatory structure. As Minister for Government Services, he will oversee the public sector, cyber security and citizen digital transaction reform.

Six months into the coronavirus pandemic, the role of government in supporting business and industry has never been more important. Martin Pakula will take on the key portfolio of Industry Support and Recovery – helping Victorian businesses navigate restrictions and restart their operations in a COVIDsafe economy, and delivering targeted support for our key job-creating sectors.

Recognising their importance to our state’s ability to grow new jobs, Minister Pakula will also take responsibility for the development of the Docklands precinct, Fishermans Bend and the Footscray precinct as part of the new Business Precincts portfolio. He will continue his work in the portfolios of Trade, Tourism, Sport and Major Events, and Racing.

Ben Carroll will step into the frontline roles of Minister for Public Transport and Minister for Roads and Road Safety, continuing to ensure we have the reliable and integrated transport network we need to get Victorians home safer and sooner.

Jaala Pulford takes up a critical role in creating jobs and overseeing Working for Victoria as Minister for Employment. Highlighting the importance of research and discovery to our economic recovery, she will also serve as Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy, and ensure our largest sector has a strong voice in government as Minister for Small Business.

Melissa Horne will serve as the Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation and Minister for Fishing and Boating, in addition to continuing her vital work in maintaining our reputation as the freight and logistics capital of Australia, as Minister for Ports and Freight.

In addition to her role as Minister for Transport Infrastructure, Jacinta Allan will lead the delivery of our biggest public transport project and reshape our suburbs as the Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop. She will also continue to oversee Development Victoria and the key transport precincts of Arden, Sunshine and the Richmond to Flinders Street corridor.

Victoria is facing an unprecedented challenge as we begin the recovery from coronavirus. This is the strong, dedicated and determined team to get us through to the other side.

Andrews Ministry | June 2020

Daniel Andrews Premier
James Merlino Deputy Premier
Minister for the Coordination of Education and Training – COVID-19

Minister for Education

Jaclyn Symes Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
Minister for Regional Development

Minister for Agriculture

Minister for Resources

Jenny Mikakos Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
Minister for the Coordination of Health and Human Services – COVID-19

Minister for Health

Minister for Ambulance Services

Tim Pallas Minister for the Coordination of Treasury and Finance – COVID-19
Minister for Industrial Relations

Minister for Economic Development

Jacinta Allan Leader of the House
Minister for the Coordination of Transport – COVID-19

Minister for Transport Infrastructure

Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop

Ben Carroll Minister for Public Transport
Minister for Roads and Road Safety

Lily D’Ambrosio Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change
Minister for Solar Homes

Luke Donnellan Minister for Child Protection
Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers

Martin Foley Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Equality

Minister for Creative Industries

Jill Hennessy Minister for the Coordination of Justice and Community Safety – COVID-19

Minister for Workplace Safety

Melissa Horne Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
Minister for Ports and Freight

Minister for Fishing and Boating

Natalie Hutchins Minister for Crime Prevention
Minister for Corrections

Minister for Youth Justice

Minister for Victim Support

Shaun Leane Minister for Local Government
Minister for Suburban Development

Minister for Veterans

Lisa Neville Minister for the Coordination of Environment, Land, Water and Planning – COVID-19
Minister for Water

Minister for Police and Emergency Services

Martin Pakula Minister for the Coordination of Jobs, Precincts and Regions – COVID 19
Minister for Industry Support and Recovery

Minister for Trade

Minister for Business Precincts

Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events

Minister for Racing

Danny Pearson Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Regulatory Reform

Minister for Government Services

Jaala Pulford Minister for Employment
Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy

Minister for Small Business

Ros Spence Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Minister for Community Sport

Minister for Youth

Gayle Tierney Minister for Skills and Training
Minister for Higher Education

Gabrielle Williams Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Minister for Prevention of Family Violence

Minister for Women

Richard Wynne Minister for Housing
Minister for Planning

Parliamentary Secretaries

Steve Dimopoulos Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
Josh Bull Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
Parliamentary Secretary for Youth

Anthony Carbines Parliamentary Secretary for Health
Parliamentary Secretary for Carers

Nick Staikos Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Paul Edbrooke Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services
Parliamentary Secretary for Bushfire Recovery

Jane Garrett Parliamentary Secretary for Jobs
Danielle Green Parliamentary Secretary for Sport
Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Victoria

Bronwyn Halfpenny Parliamentary Secretary for Workplace Safety
Sonya Kilkenny Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education
Frank McGuire Parliamentary Secretary for Crime Prevention
Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research
Cesar Melhem Parliamentary Secretary for Skills and Training
Tim Richardson Parliamentary Secretary for Schools
Harriet Shing Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health
Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries

Parliamentary Secretary for Equality

Vicki Ward Parliamentary Secretary for Transport