Outstanding Victorian Aboriginal Leaders Honoured

The Andrews Labor Government is celebrating the achievements of Aboriginal leaders who have made a profound contribution to their local communities and to Victoria.

Nine Aboriginal Victorians were inducted into the 2017 Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll at a celebration held in Melbourne last night.

Now in its seventh year, the Honour Roll recognises the achievements of Aboriginal people, past and present.

Each inductee has dedicated their life to helping others and giving back to their community, while fighting for self-determination and equality.

This year, we recognise cultural leaders across the arts, health, education, housing and social justice sectors.  The nine inductees include:

  • June Atkinson-Murray
  • Muriel Bamblett AM
  • Carolyn Briggs
  • Vicki Clark
  • Joyce Johnson
  • Diane Kerr
  • Eddie ‘Kookaburra’ Kneebone
  • Elizabeth Maud Morgan-Hoffmann
  • Brien Nelson

Their stories will be added to the Honour Roll, which is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

To read their stories, visit vic.gov.au/aboriginalvictoria.

Quote attributable to Acting Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Luke Donnellan

The Honour Roll acknowledges the contributions of Aboriginal people who have made Victoria a better and fairer place for all of us.”

Quote attributable to the Member for Geelong and State Ambassador for Closing the Gap Christine Couzens

“This year’s inductees show the diversity and strength of the Aboriginal Victorian community – their stories should be celebrated and shared among all Victorians.”