Proportionate Steps To Protect Victorians From Omicron

The Victorian Government will maintain enhanced quarantine arrangements for overseas travellers to protect the state from the new Omicron COVID-19 variant of concern until more is known about the strain.

These public health measures – being implemented by Victoria and New South Wales – are in line with additional national border security measures from the Commonwealth and are a precautionary response to Omicron.

There are currently no known cases of the Omicron variant reported in Victoria.

In line with the Australian Government’s measures, all travellers arriving in Victoria who have visited South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini and Malawi during the 14-day period before their arrival must enter hotel quarantine for 14 days – regardless of their vaccination status.

As the Seychelles has been removed from the Commonwealth’s list of countries of concern, Victoria will no longer consider it a country of concern from 11:59pm tonight.

Continuing measures announced on Sunday, all other overseas travellers must complete a PCR test and isolate for a full 72 hours at a nominated address or accommodation.

Travellers may exit isolation after 72 hours and following a negative PCR test. Travellers must also complete an additional PCR test between days 5 to 7 after arrival.

All flight crew who have been overseas during the 14-day period before their arrival in Victoria must comply with requirements for overseas returning travellers, until their next flight.

All vaccinated Australian based aircrew who have been to one of the eight countries above must quarantine for 14 days at their place of residence or alternate accommodation.

All vaccinated Australian based aircrew arriving from another international country and have not been to one of the eight countries listed above must quarantine at home or their place of residence for 72 hours.

International aircrew who do not reside in Victoria will have to quarantine in Victoria’s hotel quarantine program for 72 hours or 14 days or until their next flight – depending on whether they have been in one of the eight countries or not. Testing requirements also apply.

Anyone who has already arrived in Victoria who has been in any of the eight African countries within the previous 14 days must immediately get tested and isolate for 14 days, and call the Coronavirus Hotline on 1800 675 398.

Quote attributable to Premier Daniel Andrews

“The last couple of days have shown us that this isn’t over, and our response needs to be nimble. We’re taking proportionate, precautionary steps to keep Victorians safe until we know more about Omicron and the risks it poses to our community.”

Quote attributable to Minister for Health Martin Foley

“As we continue to learn to live with COVID, the best thing you can do to keep your family and your community safe is get vaccinated – and if you’re eligible for a booster, book in today.”