Twenty Victorian Women Awarded Prestigious Honour

Twenty outstanding Victorian women have been inducted into the 2018 Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins announced the 2018 inductees at a ceremony at the Arts Centre today hosted by comedian Nelly Thomas.

This year’s inductees join more than 600 other Victorian women who have been inducted since the Honour Roll first began in 2001.

Inductees for 2018 include a pioneering chemist, the producer of hit film The Dressmaker, an oncologist advocating for tobacco-free finance, and an Elder of the Koori Courts.

The 2018 inductees are:

  • Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC
  • Dr Maria Dudycz
  • Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton
  • Professor Belinda Gabbe
  • Dr Jessica Gallagher
  • Ms Michelle Gallaher
  • The Honourable Monica Gould
  • Associate Professor Clare Hanlon
  • Ms Sherene Hassan
  • Ms Josie Howie
  • Ms Alana Johnson
  • Dr Bronwyn King
  • Ms Ellen Koshland
  • Ms Sue Maslin
  • Mrs Pamela Pedersen
  • Professor Frances Separovic FAA
  • Leading Senior Constable Maha Sukkar
  • Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler
  • Professor Svetha Venkatesh
  • Miss Evelyn Maude West

For further information on the Victorian Honour Roll and this year’s inductees, visit

Quotes attributable to Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins

“Too often the achievements and contributions made by women are not recognised. This year’s inductees have left a huge impact on their communities and the Honour Roll acknowledges them.”

“As Minister for Women, I am privileged every day to meet and work with incredible women who make Victoria the great state that it is. Today I’ve had the honour of recognising the work of twenty outstanding leaders.”